The Lurkers - Live at the Queens Hotel

Live at the Queens Hotel

The Lurkers

Formats Tracks Price Buy
12" Vinyl Album 16 tracks £18.99


The Lurkers - Live at the Queens Hotel

A live recording from 1977! First time on vinyl!

Previously only available on CD as part of the Past & Future Landslide 3CD box set!

It was 1977 and things were progressing extremely well. We had signed to Beggars Banquet and our first single ‘Shadow’ b/w ‘Love Story’ had been released. John Peel had been playing both sides of the single most nights on his radio show, so we were getting heard by a lot of people. But we didn’t yet have a "proper" tour bus, so we all piled into a transit for the trip down to Margate with our tour manager Mike Stone in the driving seat.

The Queens Hotel turned out to be a pretty good venue. There was a nice high stage which we much preferred over the low-slung platforms of some of the places we played. It meant that the crowd wasn’t totally swamping us the whole time, although there would still be a constant stream of people jumping on and off stage, bumping us, knocking equipment over and so forth. We weren’t sure if many people would turn up on a cold and windy night so close to Christmas, but it was a good turnout, and they were out for a good time too. There was none of the aggro stuff which would become a problem later on at our shows.

The actual gig was typical of a Lurkers show at that time, being fairly chaotic with a lot of crowd "interaction". There is a recklessly fast version of ‘Pills’ on the recording, and I think we were playing ‘It’s Quiet Here’ for the first time live. Howard was on good form too; it would be his birthday on Christmas Day. My favourite quip from him is towards the end of the show when he says "eat your heart out Hank Marvin" after one of my more eccentric Shadows guitar intros. PETE STRIDE 2022


12" Vinyl Album (DAMGOOD604LP)
  1. Ain't Gotta Clue (Live)
  2. Self Destruct (Live)
  3. Love Story (Live)
  4. Freakshow (Live)
  5. Pills (Live)
  6. It's Quiet Here (Live)
  7. I Love the Dark (Live)
  8. Be My Prisoner (Live)
  9. Then I Kissed Her (Live)
  10. Total War (Live)
  11. Time of Year (Live)
  12. Ooh Ooh I Love You (Live)
  13. I'm On Heat (Live)
  14. Shadow (Live)
  15. Be My Prisoner (Live Version Two)
  16. Shadow (Live Version Two)