Simon Williams read by Peter Fox - 1-2 Cut Your Hair - The Story Of Johnny Moped

1-2 Cut Your Hair - The Story Of Johnny Moped

Simon Williams read by Peter Fox

Formats Tracks Price Buy
Download Album (WAV) 35 tracks £7.99
Download Album (MP3) 35 tracks £7.99
Download Album (FLAC) 35 tracks £7.99
Download individual tracks From £0.99


Simon Williams read by Peter Fox - 1-2 Cut Your Hair - The Story Of Johnny Moped

We’re very pleased to announce that the audiobook version of 1-2 Cut Your Hair! The Story of Johnny Moped is out today! Written by Simon Williams, and read by legendary Croydon DJ Peter Fox!

Johnny Moped – The man, the band, the punk myth, the none-hit-wonder, the absent singer, the comeback (and back, and back again) king. Five decades of heroic eccentricity, elusive musicality and accidentally saving The Electric Light Orchestra.

This story has it all and so much more.

Featuring brand new interviews with Dave Berk, Slimy Toad, Xerxes and Johnny himself, plus exclusive insights from Captain Sensible, Marco Pirroni and a litany of old school expert fans and perturbed modern Moped riders, this is the only book you will ever need to read about one of the all-time great misunderstood and frequently mislaid rock ‘n’ roll troopers.

Formed in Croydon in May 1974, the band were a proto-punk band, initially calling themselves Johnny Moped and the 5 Arrogant Superstars before reverting to just Johnny Moped by January 1975. They became one of the pioneering punk bands that played at London’s legendary Roxy Club.
Their track ‘Hard Lovin’ Man’ appeared on the hit various artists album Live at the Roxy WC2 (1977). The band went on to sign with Chiswick Records and released three singles and one album, Cycledelic, before splitting up. A low-key reunion album (The Search For Xerxes) came out in 1991. Sixteen years after its release Cycledelic was listed as one of the best fifty punk albums of all-time by The Guinness Encyclopaedia of Popular Music.

A documentary about the band, Basically, Johnny Moped, produced by Fred Burns, premiered in September 2013. The film further cemented the band’s legendary status. ‘It’s currently available to watch in the UK via Netflix.

In 2016 the revitalised band released a new album It’s A Real Cool Baby’ on Damaged Goods Records, with a fourth studio album ‘Lurrigate Your Mind ‘following in 2019. With interest in the band at an all-time high, the time is now right for their story to be told.


Download Album (DAMBOOK4A)
  1. Johnny Moped Intro
  2. Start!
  3. Banned On The Run
  4. Jeffing And Blinding
  5. Tumult Too Young
  6. Ready Cassette Go!
  7. Gigging In The Rigging
  8. Surrey Seems To Be The Hardest Word
  9. The Roxy Music
  10. Stop Your Slobbing
  11. Living On The Reg
  12. Rantmusic
  13. Live At The Poxy
  14. This Deal’s On Fire
  15. The Legend Of Brenda Legends
  16. The ‘Cycledelic’ Force
  17. Mama Weer All Kaysa Now
  18. Domestic Blisters
  19. Off The Chiswick Roundabout
  20. The Sound Of Fred
  21. This Seal’s On Fire
  22. All The Younger Dudes
  23. The Search For ‘The Search For Xerxes’
  24. The Caterham 3. Or 4. Or 5.
  25. Lost In The Supermarket
  26. Where Have All The Bootlegs Gone?
  27. Darling Premieres
  28. Lemmy Outta Here
  29. Baby I Love You
  30. The Captain Says Wot
  31. Better Lurrigate Than Never
  32. Germanic Street Preachers
  33. What Does Anything Mean? ‘Basically,’
  34. Smash It Up
  35. Goodbye Johnny Moped